Have not they learned their lessons?

If you think about improvement, going to the “next level” as to say, then start humble yourself and learned from other road organizers, lend your ears to the needs of runners and professionally follow the basic requirements of road races. If you are not ready to humble yourself, forget about organizing a race!. It is not about competing with other organizers neither should it turn out to be political but rather in harmony to promote an active lifestyle as well as to make running an establish event in the country.  Those who take running seriously hates when organizers do not have proper objective and direction. Don’t just organize a race (esp. a full marathon event) because there hasn’t been a  full marathon event yet this year. If you want to be the first to organized a full marathon event for this year, then do your Job professionally well!

I believed the reason why other organizers (Subic marathon, Clark marathon, Phil. marathon, etc) postponed their dates towards the end of the year perhaps because they are not ready to organizes a good race yet. Maybe because they want to improve the quality of service, market their event internationally, or maybe because of insufficient fund at the moment. Whatever the reasons for postponing the dates, I hope that these organizers too will humble themselves and learned from the mistake of others particularly yesterday’s Paa-Tibayan 42k. I also hope that they will consider listening to their “customers”/runners concerns.

I can say with disappointment that Paa-Tibayan 42k marathon is the worst and ugliest event I joined since last year. From a confusing route, delay of starting time to the lack of Marshalls and lack of water cups (whatelse?) I sadly can say that the event was not worth to participate!.

When I studied the map few days before the event, I was already confused. What is this? even the Rajang river (the longest river in Malaysia) or the Mekong river (longest river in S.E.A) doesn’t look as complicated as this map.  If there were not enough marshalls, I’ll be the first to get lost in the concrete jungles of Manila. Im not familiar with the routes in Manila. No matter how much time I spent studying the map, it still won’t give me a full perfect picture. I need to experience it and sometimes it means to get lost! But this can be avoided if there were sufficient marshalls who knows where the runners should go or enter. Not just telling them to go straight!

Well, I don’t want to accelerate my disappointment more neither do I want to fully put the blame on the organizers of Botak but rather I hope they humble themselves and take whatever criticism as lessons and NOT just to walk away when runners pour out their complaints (I felt disgrace when we were talking directly to the Head organizer, and he didn’t say anything but just walk away silently, ignoring our complaints).  We complained because it wasn’t fair to many of us. We are NOT cheaters! Even if I were to win a price, I won’t accept it. In fact I almost refuse to accept the finishing medal because I felt cheated and on top of that I didn’t fully completed the distance of the required event (only 32k). We come here to finish the race and go home satisfied with whatever accomplisment!

I guess I had an unlucky disappointment Farewell run. As this was already scheduled to be my last and final race before leaving the Philippines next week. Well, For this half of the year, most of the races I participated were good and memoriable ones except the Power Run last february and this one (Paa-Tibayan 42k) otherwise all would turn out to be perfect. I hope not only these organizers will humble themselves and learned from their mistake, but we too as runners who support and promote running in the country should give our moral support and acknowledgement for the hard effort they had put in. It is not an easy job but when both the organizers and runners works together, it makes the challenges easy to handle.

DSC07487

Upon reaching to the FInishing line, Jerry approached me and asked about my time. I told him that there was a mistake as my time of completion was 3 hrs 20mins. I also told him that I made a U turn at the Buendia Avenue (26k mark) as some other 42k runner did. Basically, I followed the flow of a group of 42k runners who were few meters ahead of me without realizing they were not suppose to make the U turn at the first place. This is where the confusion and the whole mistake begins. Mari did the same mistake as I did too!

DSC07503

I went back to the big map to see where was the error made! Im confused and disappointed. Who do I blame? the organizers or myself? As I look and study the map again, Instantly I saw the error. As far as I know, there were only 2 female marshall at the 21/42k U turn (at the 26k marker). But both Marshall were busy monitoring the 21k runners and neglect the 42k runners who were supposed to go forward and turn right to the other side of the street and not to make the U turn.

DSC07509

picture with Takbo phils. The blog where I used to update myself on running events in the country.

DSC07513

 

Picture with the newly wed. couple, president of Takbo phils. Mr and Mrs Jinoe! Congrats. May God continue to bless both of you!

DSC07474

I never fail to post these beautiful faces up. Lately they have been actively joined me in road races. I admire their enthusiasm. They are not worried about maintaining the pace or break a new PR as I am, but they just want to enjoy, to experience the event and most of all to complete the race. Good luck guys in your next race adventure! Too bad won’t join you all in the next race.

DSC07524

Felt Cheated! I expect to run 42k only to find out that I completed 32k. We had our lunch at the Manila Adventist Medical Center cafeteria and I hardly finish my rice. What a disappointed day! The only thing that satisfied me is that I was able to do a long distance run under the heat. At least I know what to do and how will I prepare for the KL. Standard Charted Marathon this coming June 28. I’ll be There!

6 Responses

  1. Good luck in the KL marathon and I hope this is not the last time we will see you at the races my friend!

  2. i understand your situation, esp. with regards to the medal. sometimes i prefer being cheated than being “forced” to cheat. for example i prefer that the race distances are longer than they should be rather than shorter and have me set a PR during the race. oh well, i hope that you bring more good Philippine racing memories with you home to Malaysia than bad ones such as this one.

  3. hi Jay,

    Glad to meet and run for a short distance with you. Is just to bad I wasn’t able to maintain my pace. Hope to see you in the future.

    hi,
    thats right. the feeling is different when you received a medal upon completing something that you work hard on. I have lots of good memories running here. In fact, I started joining races in the phils. so its something that I will never forget. Hope to come back in the future and hope to see more improvement.

  4. My friend, good luck in the KL Marathon in June. Instead of my commenting about what happened on Sunday, it was great meeting you last November. Hopefully, when I come back late this year or early 2010, you’ll be back as well.

    Take care and continue the good running!

    • Thank you, and it was great meeting you last Nov. I hope to return too. Have a great week.

  5. i hope you will still visit the philippines to join a marathon. you can join the bataan 102 next year. good luck in your future races.

Leave a comment